Data Capture

All suburb/locality data used for the polygon geometry in postcodes is captured by the State and Territory governments through appropriate agencies. The digital suburb/locality boundaries and their legal identifiers have been derived from each Australian State and Territory jurisdiction.

The postcodes are provided by Australia Post and are required to facilitate the efficient processing and delivery of mail to customers. Any areas that do not have postcode boundaries (e.g. NW South Australia) are consistent with the coverage of gazetted suburbs/localities boundaries. None of the gazetted suburb/locality boundaries have been changed with the exception of the suburb of Melbourne, which is split into two separate areas for the allocation of different postcodes (3000 and 3004).

A decision as to whether a new postcode or an existing postcode is to be allocated to a suburb/locality is based on operational efficiency. Issues that underpin the decision are critically analysed; these include the configuration of the Australia Post network, transportation connections and delivery arrangements. Australia Post will only allocate a postcode where there are deliveries within an area and where there is no conflict with the allocation of other postcodes by Australia Post. It is ultimately Australia Post’s decision on whether an area is allocated a postcode. Australia Post will allocate ‘NA’ as a postcode where they are unable to resolve the allocation of a postcode to a gazetted suburb/locality boundary, even though they may have identified a postcode for the name (e.g. GALIWINKU, NT). The postcodes for Australia Post postal services that use specific suburbs/localities, such as Post Office Boxes (e.g. EAST PERTH, WA 6892) are not captured in the Postcode Boundaries product.

Data capture scope

Data for changed objects within the current release time period.